Started Spiro Sep. 4

I started oral spiro on Sunday Sept. 4, one week earlier than planned. I am doing 50 mg per day. I will keep you all posted. My next progress post will be in two weeks and will be for acne only. In three months I will post my first hairline update progress pics. At that same time I will also post pics of facial hair. It is then that I will decide whether to go to 75 mg or stay at 50 mg. So every other week (until it is cleared up entirely) I will posts acne update pics every other week and every three months I will post hairline pics. If I get good results than I hope I can inspire other guys to do it. I like being somewhat of a pioneer.

This entry was posted in General, Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Started Spiro Sep. 4

  1. god speed gentlemen ! the drug companies sure have no interest in helping us. thanks for your hard work.

  2. Highgarden says:

    I hope it will work for you! Good luck! I’ll probably add 100mg of spiro per day to finasteride (1mg daily) to overcome that really cruel and stupid MPB, Spiro is really cheap in my country (when I convert my currency to USD, it’s about 2-3$ monthly).

    Continue your blog, please. Don’t disappear when you achieve success. πŸ™‚

    • auglenny says:

      Don’t you have to have a prescription over here?
      Looks like I happen to be from the same country (checked your IP πŸ™‚ ) and I ordered it from an overseas pharmacy to avoid getting it.
      Would love to get it that cheap, mine is more around 30usd/month, which is still cheap but well.

      • Highgarden says:

        I live near Warsaw, Poland. Yeah, prescription is required but I’m quite lucky to have a physician as a family member. It wasn’t that difficult to convince her (oh, gathering up courage to talk with her was! – that’s why I’d researched other options, such as offshore pharmacies or buying from other domestic sources πŸ˜‰ ), it seems that doctors don’t loathe spiro as much as some balding people. πŸ˜‰

      • auglenny says:

        Yea, live somewhere around there too.

        Nice to hear. Was afraid they wouldn’t even know about using spiro for hairloss over here.
        I’ve even read stories of women having trouble getting a prescription for the right dosage(over in the US).
        So I didn’t even think about going to a doctor. Not to mention I don’t have one.

  3. AznAqn says:

    Hi I stumbled upon your blog from the other hairloss forum; I wanted to comment that INCIDENTALLY, I’ve started the same process as you did! I started taking 50 mg on Sept 1st, heh. Mind you, I also have already been on generic dustasteride for a year now and am still on it currently. So, we might not exactly have similar results since you are taking spironolactone alone while I am doing the dutas-spiro combo. However, I just thought I would leave a comment to show you support as well.

    I plan to go up to 100mg tomorrow. I am curious – are you taking the brand name or its generic equivalent, Spirotone?

  4. AznAqn says:

    Hey! I am still taking oral Spirotone and it has been a month now. I feel fine, aside from occasional and few instances of weird heartbeats and head spinning.

    I have a receding line which I think can only be corrected with hair transplants or hairline lowering surgery. I believe that hairline lowering surgery is better since you lower your hairline immediately and you do not have to wait for your hair to grow out from the transplants. Other than that, I have thinning scalp hair and it is very curly/fine.

    In spite of the thin and fine hair, I believe dutasteride (it has been a year since now, 0.5 mg everyday) has really done a good job on my hair, though – I barely need to use Toppik anymore now.It looks scary when wet and soaked – scalp very visible and the hair looks sad, lol. But when dried and plumped, you can hardly see the scalp. Being curly probably helps cover more area as well.

    We’ll see how spiro does its job now that it has joined the hair fight with dutasteride.

Leave a comment